top of page

Unarmed Security Training

State of Tennessee requires 4 hours of initial unarmed security training that covers:

  • ​​Orientation

  • Legal Powers and Limitations of a Security Officer

  • Emergency Procedures

  • General Duties

Beginning January 1st, 2023 the State of Tennessee is going to require all unarmed guards to renew their registration card by completing a 2-hour refresher training with a certified instructor. 

The State will also requiring four additional trainings if you are a person who works in ANY establishment that sells single serve alcoholic beverages for consumption on property. Some of these venues would include stadiums, arenas, hotels, bars, music venues and so on. These four trainings are

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

  • De-escalation Training

  • Safe Restraint Training 

These four additional training sessions can be completed online. Go to Dallas Law training and register for it. You will be able to complete the training online and will receive a certificate that says you have completed the training in the email that you registered with. If you want to get certified for CPR/First Aid/AED, (the State of Tennessee does not require you to be certified), then you'll go to the American Red Cross and register there for the complete certification course.

Initial Application: $70

Fingerprints: $37.15

Renewal Cost: $50

Late Renewal (up to 3 months): $20 per month

Replacement Cost: $25

How-to videos

Register for a new account

www.core.tn.gov

How to get your fingerprints done

www.identoGo.com

Complete paperwork for registration card

www.core.tn.gov

Class Registration

The Security Firm logo

Initial Unarmed 

$90

The Security Firm logo

Initial Unarmed (Online)

$90

The Security Firm logo

Unarmed Renewal (Online)

$60

bottom of page